In Stores Now 11/20

In Stores Now

This week sees new albums from two soul greats. Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings share their seventh and final album, recorded before Jones passed away from cancer in November 2016. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "a strong set of buoyant old-school soul and funk, with songs mostly written by members of the Dap-Kings combining punchy horns, chunky rhythm guitar, searing organ riffs, cinematic strings and in-the-pocket grooves with her gritty, soulful vocals." The latest from Chicago legend Mavis Staples is "a powerful set of politically charged, bluesy soul, gritty funk-rock, R&B-tinged folk-rock and gospel. Produced by Jeff Tweedy (who's now produced three of her last four albums) and featuring all songs co-written by Staples and Tweedy, the album finds Staples flashing more anger than usual in confronting complacency while still refusing to give up on love and hope."

Additional highlights this week include the sophomore release from Brooklyn band Gingerlys, "a strong set of '80s-steeped dream-pop with jangly guitars, bright synths, driving rhythms, ethereal vocals and soaring song hooks juxtaposed with often-melancholy lyrics." John Dwyer "sets aside the Oh Sees' psych-tinged garage-punk and revives his early OCS moniker for a fine set of gentle psych-folk. The album also sees the return of former accompanist Brigid Dawson, and she's prominently featured throughout on vocals and keyboards." Anacortes, WA Karl Blau returns with "an eclectic blend of prog-pop, psych-rock, funk, jazz, Afro-beat, dub and more, featuring an intricate, groove-driven sound and a variety of colorful instrumentation." And Morrissey returns with his eleventh album, his first full-length LP since 2014, produced by Joe Chiccarelli (The White Stripes, Spoon).

  • America
  • from Heritage: Home Recordings/Demos 1970-1973 on Omnivore
  • Barenaked Ladies - "Canada Dry"
  • from Fake Nudes on Vanguard Records
  • Bitchin Bajas
  • from Bajas Fresh on Drag City
  • Black Sabbath - "War Pigs"
  • from The End on Eagle Rock / Universal
  • Bob Seger - "Busload of Faith"
  • from I Knew You When on Capitol
  • The Body / Full of Hell - "Earth is a Cage"
  • from Ascending a Mountain of Heavy Light on Thrill Jockey
  • Chris Gantry - "The Lizard"
  • from At the House of Cash on Drag City
  • County Liners - "Maria"
  • from Mary Jane Dunphe & Chris McDonnell in the County Liners on Wharf Cat Records
  • Electric Wizard - "See You In Hell"
  • from Wizard Bloody Wizard on Spinefarm Records
  • Electric Light Orchestra / Jeff Lynne's ELO - "Twilight"
  • from Wembley or Bust on Columbia / Sony Legacy
  • Faith Hill / Tim McGraw - "The Rest of Our Life"
  • from The Rest of Our Life on Arista / Nashville / Tim McGraw Music
  • Fits - "Ice Cream on a Nice Day"
  • from All Belief Is Paradise on Father/Daughter Records
  • G.B.H. - "Fifty What?"
  • from Momentum on Hellcat
  • Gingerlys - "Turtledoves"
  • from Gingerlys on Topshelf
  • Godflesh - "Post Self"
  • from Post Self on Avalanche / Shellshock
  • Green Day - "Back In The USA"
  • from Greatest Hits: God's Favorite Band on Reprise
  • Iron Maiden
  • from The Book of Souls: Live Chapter on BMG / Sanctuary
  • John Coltrane
  • from Chasing Trane: The John Coltrane Documentary [Original Soundtrack] on UMe
  • Jon Balke - "Nahnou Houm, Siwan"
  • from Siwan: Nahnou Houm on ECM
  • Karl Blau - "Beckon"
  • from Out Her Space on Bella Union
  • Katharine McPhee - "Night and Day"
  • from I Fall in Love Too Easily on BMG
  • Kicking Giant - "Come In Colors"
  • from This Being the Ballad of Kicking Giant, Halo: NYC​/​Olympia 1989-1993 on K Records / Drawing Room Records
  • Matt Berry - "Hey Little Girl"
  • from Night Terrors on Acid Jazz
  • Mavis Staples - "Ain't No Doubt About It (feat. Jeff Tweedy)"
  • from If All I Was Was Black on Anti-
  • Mike Love - "Darlin' (feat. AJR)"
  • from Unleash the Love on BMG
  • Morrissey - "The Girl from Tel-Aviv Who Wouldn't Kneel"
  • from Low in High School on BMG
  • Nine Inch Nails - "The Day The World Went Away (Instrumental)"
  • from The Fragile: Deviations 1 on Island / Nothing
  • No One and the Somebodies / Palberta - "Chicken Milk"
  • from Chips for Dinner on Wharf Cat Records
  • OCS / Thee Oh Sees - "The Fool"
  • from Memory of a Cut Off Head on Castle Face
  • Scott Bradlee's Postmodern Jukebox - "Thriller - Michael Jackson (1930s Jazz Cover) ft. Wayne Brady"
  • from The New Classics on Concord / Postmodern Jukebox Records
  • Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings - "Just Give Me Your Time"
  • from Soul of a Woman on Daptone
  • Sia - "Santa's Coming For Us"
  • from Everyday Is Christmas on Atlantic
  • Skillet - "Back From the Dead"
  • from Unleashed Beyond on Atlantic
  • Taylor Swift - "Call It What You Want"
  • from reputation on Big Machine Records / Virgin EMI
  • Tom Chaplin - "Under A Million Lights"
  • from Twelve Tales of Christmas on UMGRI Interscope

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 11/27

It may have been a holiday weekend, but some new releases still hit the stores, including the highly-anticipated ninth album from Icelandic icon Björk. Seattle's own Dude York shares a full-length holiday album, featuring mostly original material. And Sufjan Stevens shares a collection of demos, re…

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 11/13

We've been sharing sneak peeks at the new Angel Olsen album in our Music News Roundups, and now we have the complete collection of b-sides, cover songs, previously unreleased recordings, and other rarities. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "a first-rate collection...ranging from bristling fol…

Read More