In Stores Now 11/13

In Stores Now

We've been sharing sneak peeks at the new Angel Olsen album in our Music News Roundups, and now we have the complete collection of b-sides, cover songs, previously unreleased recordings, and other rarities. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "a first-rate collection...ranging from bristling folk-rock to stripped-down country-folk."

Ian Svenonius (of The Make Up, Chain & The Gang, Nation Of Ulysses, etc.) has a new solo project called Escape-ism. "His debut album under that name is a fine set of minimalist post-punk with shards of angular guitars and hypnotic drum-machine rhythms accompanying his heated vocals and often-sardonic lyrics." Dawn People is the new collaboration between Peter Negroponte of Guerilla Toss and Nick Forte of Raspberry Bulbs. And Denver-based band Tennis share "a fine five-song EP of wistful, hook-filled pop-rock."

Also, this week sees two collections from some indie rock icons. Hüsker Dü deliver a 69-track box set (4LP or 3CD) featuring remasters from soundboard tapes, session masters, and demos captured between 1979 and 1982; 47 previously unreleased tracks; a completely alternate version of their Land Speed Record live album, and a hardbound book featuring 40 previously unpublished photographs. Meanwhile, R.E.M. celebrate the 25th anniversary of their renowned eighth LP Automatic for the People with a deluxe reissue, freshly mixed by original producer Scott Litt and engineer Clif Norrellin in the new Dolby Atmos format, as well as a bonus disc of 20 never-before-heard demos from the Automatic sessions.

  • Angel Olsen - "Special"
  • from Phases on Jagjaguwar
  • Aretha Franklin / Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - "Border Song (Holy Moses)"
  • from A Brand New Me on Atlantic / Rhino
  • Bed Wettin' Bad Boys - "Plastic Tears"
  • from Rot on What's Yr Rupture?
  • Brian Blade & the Fellowship Band - "Duality"
  • from Body and Shadow on Blue Note
  • Buffy Sainte-Marie - "You Got To Run (Spirit of the Wind)"
  • from Medicine Songs on True North Records
  • The Corrs - "SOS"
  • from Jupiter Calling on Rhino / Warner Music
  • Dawn People - "Be Cool Tonight"
  • from The Star Is Your Future on DFA
  • Electric Wizard - "See You In Hell"
  • from Wizard Bloody Wizard on Spinefarm Records
  • Elton John
  • from Diamonds [2 CD] on Mercury
  • Escape-Ism - "Almost No One (Can Have My Love)"
  • from Introduction to Escape-Ism on Merge
  • Evanescence - "Bring Me to Life"
  • from Synthesis on BMG
  • Gregg Kowalsky - "Maliblue Dream Sequence"
  • from L'Orange, L'Orange on Mexican Summer
  • Gun Outfit - "Sally Rose"
  • from Out of Range on Paradise of Bachelors
  • Hoops - "4U"
  • from Tapes #1-3 on Fat Possum
  • Hüsker Dü - "Do You Remember? (Demo)"
  • from Savage Young Dü on Numero
  • Kygo - "I See You (feat. Billy Raffoul)"
  • from Kids in Love on Kygo
  • Marker Starling
  • from Anchors and Ampersands on Tin Angel
  • Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats - "Failing Dirge (Live)"
  • from Live at Red Rocks on Stax
  • Peter Matthew Bauer - "Full Moon In The Sky"
  • from Mount Qaf (Divine Love) on Qoy
  • Peter Oren - "Anthropocene"
  • from Anthropocene on Western Vinyl Records
  • Project Mama Earth - "Mama Earth"
  • from Mama Earth on Provogue
  • Quicksand - "Under The Screw"
  • from Interiors on Epitaph
  • R.E.M.
  • from Automatic for the People [25th Anniversary Edition] on Craft Records / Universal
  • The Soap Opera - "No Name No Pack Drill"
  • from Ready to Hatch on Ample Play
  • Spinning Coin - "I Feel The Need To Be An Actor"
  • from Permo on Geographic
  • Syleena Johnson - "Make Me Yours"
  • from Rebirth of Soul on Shanachie Records
  • Tennis - "No Exit"
  • from We Can Die Happy on Mutually Detrimental

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 11/20

This week sees new albums from two soul greats. Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings share their seventh and final album, recorded before Jones passed away from cancer in November 2016. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "a strong set of buoyant old-school soul and funk, with songs mostly written b…

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 11/6

A long-awaited U-Men 2-CD set has hit the streets. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes the compilation "collects the complete 1984-89 recordings of this legendary Seattle band, whose pre-grunge sound was a feral, adventurous blend of pounding post-punk, raucous Sonics garage-rock, psychobilly and m…

Read More