In Stores Now 1/8/18

In Stores Now
Dusty Henry

Former Bomb The Music Industry frontman Jeff Rosenstock returns with his sixth solo LP, Post-, and maybe the first major album to come out in 2018 with a New Year's Day release. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes the record as "ranging from soaring, anthemic punk-pop to wistful indie-rock and epic, prog-tinged punk, combining crunchy guitars, punchy rhythms, angst-fueled, often-politically charged lyrics and fist-pumping song hooks."

The ever-prolific Australian psych outfit King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard made good on their promise to release five albums in 2017 just at the buzzer with Gumboot Soup. The record "acts more as a musical overview of the band's bountiful 2017 output, with the sound ranging from whimsical psych-pop and motorik prog to thundering stoner-rock."

Seattle rapper Astro King Phoenix teams up with producer OCNotes for his latest project, Delicate Surface, which serves as a concept record based around the two artists traveling through a portal and getting stuck in the future. Atlanta legend Gucci Mane continues his voracious output with his latest tape, El Gato: The Human Glacier, while the superstar team of Quavo from Migos and Travis Scott unite for their collaborative LP, Huncho Jack, Jack Huncho. Plus, the elusive indie rocker Avi Buffalo returns with a surprise experimental LP simply titled, 2017

  • Jeff Rosenstock - "USA"
  • from Post-
  • King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard - "Muddy Water"
  • from Gumboot Soup
  • Astro King Phoenix - "Cloudy Eyes"
  • from Delicate Surface
  • Gucci Mane - "Peepin Out The Blinds"
  • from El Gato: The Human Glacier
  • Quavo & Travis Scott - "Where U From"
  • from Huncho Jack, Jack Huncho
  • Avi Buffalo - "A Man On The Plane Who Did Analytics For Hormel Foods And Told Me To Try More Of Their Products To Which I Reminded Myself That He Is Brainwashed"
  • from 2017

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 1/15

Northwest supergroup Unlikely Friends (featuring members of BOAT and Math and Physics Club) have returned with their sophomore album, Crooked Numbers. The LP follows up on 2016's Solid Gold Cowboys and KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "another impressive set of buoyant power-pop with jangly g…

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 12/18

Seattle band Special Explosion release their second album, To Infinity, which KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls "a softer, dreamier and more melodic take on the band's dynamic, '90s-steeped Northwest rock, combining jangly guitars, shape-shifting rhythms, emotive lyrics and shimmering pop melodie…

Read More