In Stores Now 10/30

In Stores Now

Earlier this week, Fever Ray surprised fans with a new album, the first in eight years for this solo project from Karin Dreijer Andersson, frontwoman for the Swedish duo The Knife. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "an excellent set of adventurous, noise-addled electro-pop combining buzzing synths and a variety of inventive beats with her eerie vocals and frank lyrics of love, sex, and desire." Minnesota artist John Maus also returns with his first new LP in six years, "an impressive experimental take on '80s-steeped synth-pop and post-punk, featuring a murky, reverbed sound with icy synths, atmospheric guitars, driving rhythms, echoing vocals and apocalyptic, doom-laden lyrics leavened with mordant humor."

"In 2011, Italian composer Daniele Luppi collaborated with Danger Mouse (along with Jack White and Norah Jones) for the album Rome. For this follow-up concept album about 1980s-era Milan, he teamed up with the Brooklyn-based band Parquet Courts for a radically different-sounding record, combining a playful, edgy post-punk sound with alternating lead vocals from Parquet Courts' Andrew Savage and Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O." Tennessee-based artist Julien Baker returns with her sophomore full-length, a "powerful set of dark, hymnal folk-pop with a haunting, minimalist sound featuring just spare guitar and piano along with occasional strings and woodwinds accompanying her aching, dynamic vocals and vulnerable, almost unbearably intimate lyrics dealing with depression, doubt, and faith."

On his second album, Curtis Harding brings "a strong set of '70s-influenced soul and funk. Produced by Danger Mouse and Sam Cohen, the album features a moody, psych-tinged sound with fuzzy guitars, keyboards, cinematic strings and occasional horns accompanying his soulful falsetto." And veteran LA-based artist Joe Henry shares his 14th studio album, "a beautifully crafted set of low-key folk-pop combining a warm, often acoustic-oriented sound with spiritually infused, often politically charged lyrics."

  • Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein
  • from Stranger Things: Music From The Netflix Original Series on Lakeshore Records
  • Battleme - "Testament"
  • from Cult Psychotica on El Camino Records / Warner Music
  • Big K.R.I.T. - "Big Bank (feat. T.I.)"
  • from 4eva Is a Mighty Long Time on BMG
  • Bootsy Collins - "Hot Saucer (feat. Musiq Soulchild & Big Daddy Kane)"
  • from World Wide Funk on Mascot Music
  • Courtney Pine - "You Know Who You Are"
  • from Black Notes From the Deep on Freestyle Records / Virtual Label
  • Curtis Harding - "Need Your Love"
  • from Face Your Fear on Anti-
  • Daniele Luppi / Parquet Courts - "Soul and Cigarette"
  • from Milano on 30th Century Records / Columbia
  • Darlene Shrugg - "Strawberry Milk"
  • from Darlene Shrugg on Upset the Rhythm
  • Fever Ray - "To The Moon And Back"
  • from Plunge on Mute
  • The Flavr Blue - "Fetti And Spaghetti"
  • from Blue Dream on self-released
  • Gregory Porter - "Quizas, Quizas, Quizas"
  • from Nat "King" Cole & Me on Blue Note / Decca
  • Hollywood Undead - "Nobody's Watching"
  • from Five on BMG
  • Joe Henry - "River Floor"
  • from Thrum on earMusic
  • John Maus - "Touchdown"
  • from Screen Memories on Ribbon Music
  • Julien Baker - "Turn Out The Lights"
  • from Turn Out the Lights on Matador
  • Kelly Clarkson - "Meaning Of Life"
  • from Meaning of Life on Atlantic
  • Kenny Chesney - "Big Star (Live With Taylor Swift)"
  • from Live in No Shoes Nation on Blue Chair Records / Columbia
  • Lee Ann Womack - "All The Trouble"
  • from The Lonely, The Lonesome & The Gone on ATO
  • Maston - "Rain Dance"
  • from Tulips on Phonoscope
  • Rachel Platten - "Perfect For You"
  • from Waves on Columbia Records / Sony Music
  • SAVAK - "I Wanna Exist"
  • from Cut-Ups on Ernest Jenning
  • The Sound of Arrows - "In The Shade Of Your Love (feat. Niki & The Dove)"
  • from Stay Free on Skies Above
  • Theory of a Deadman - "Wicked Game"
  • from Wake Up Call on Atlantic / Roadrunner Records
  • The Used - "Over And Over Again"
  • from The Canyon on Hopeless Records
  • Weezer - "QB Blitz"
  • from Pacific Daydream on Atlantic / Crush Music
  • Willie Nelson - "The Maker"
  • from Teatro: The Complete Sessions on Modern Classics
  • Yelawolf - "Row Your Boat"
  • from Trial by Fire on Interscope / Polydor / Slumerican

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 11/6

A long-awaited U-Men 2-CD set has hit the streets. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes the compilation "collects the complete 1984-89 recordings of this legendary Seattle band, whose pre-grunge sound was a feral, adventurous blend of pounding post-punk, raucous Sonics garage-rock, psychobilly and m…

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 10/23

Vancouver, BC artist Dan Bejar -- better known as Destroyer -- returns with his 11th album, which KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes as "a powerful set of dark,'80s-steeped New Wave/post-punk with prominent percussive synths, gleaming guitars and occasional strings and horns accompanying his d…

Read More